LIVING UNDER SIEGE

 

 


LIVING UNDER SIEGE

As with exile, its opposite, siege is intrinsically linked to war. Exile is a consequence of conflict, siege is an historical military strategy. Whilst people instinctively flee war, some unfortunately cannot and must learn to live in collective confinement, sometimes imposed for long periods of time.

Cinema, bearing witness to history, gives visibility to these very particular conflict situations. Siege is also deeply cinematic, offering an art form composed of a multitude of possible narratives, both real and imaginary. Narratives that were brought to life in the theatre before film began to thrive on them, thanks to its heightened technical capacity.

Cinema has been profoundly nourished by these episodes of siege and has translated or depicted them in a variety of forms or genres (the Western, the war film, sci-fi). The Trojan War, the Battle of Stalingrad and the Siege of Sarajevo are just a few of the events which have become historical landmarks and the subject of numerous adaptations.

WOS focuses on the human dimension (individual or collective) of the state of siege, following, listening to and presenting populations trapped inside a limited space, cut off from the rest of the world and who must nevertheless resist and survive in the hope of a hypothetical positive outcome. Via both real and imaginary sieges, we are taken to Syria, Lebanon, Sarajevo and South America, to meet those living under siege.


- Hervé Bougon & Philippe Bachman

 

---

THE FILMS


THE SIEGE, Rémy Ourdan et Patrick Chauvel (2016) – France

SILVERED WATER
, Ossama Mohamed & Wiam Simav Bedirxan (2014) France/Syrie

THE EMBASSY
, Chris Marker (1973) – France

9 DAYS FROM MY WINDOW IN ALEPPO
, Floor van der Meulen & Thomas Vroege (2015) The Netherlands/Syria

POSTHUME
, Ghassan Salhab (2007) - Liban


Institutional Partners
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  AMNESTY LA-COMETE

Enregistrer

VIVRE ASSIÉGÉ

 

 


vivre assiégé 


Comme son contraire l’exil, le siège est indissociable de la guerre. Si le premier est conséquence du conflit, le second est une figure stratégique centrale de l’histoire militaire. Si les populations ont le réflexe de fuir la guerre, d’autres n’ont malheureusement pas cette opportunité et doivent apprendre à vivre en un confinement collectif imposé parfois durablement.

Le cinéma, témoin de l’Histoire, rend visible ces situations de conflit si particulières.
Le siège est aussi profondément cinématographique. Il offre une dramaturgie ouvrant sur une multitude de récits possibles, réels ou imaginaires que le théâtre s’est plu à incarner avant que le 7ème art ne s’en nourrisse, fort de sa capacité technique spectaculaire décuplée.

Le cinéma s’est profondément nourrit de ces épisodes de sièges et les a traduit ou déclinés sous différentes formes ou genres (le western, le film de guerre, la SF). La guerre de Troie, la bataille de Stalingrad ou le siège de Sarajevo sont autant d’épisodes qui ont marqués l’Histoire et fait l’objet de multiples adaptations.

WOS s’intéresse ici à la dimension humaine (individuelle et collective) de l’état de siège pour suivre, écouter et montrer des populations prises au piège dans un espace circonscrit, coupés du monde et qui doivent néanmoins résister et survivre dans l’espoir d’une hypothétique issue positive. Entre sièges réels ou imaginaires, ce focus nous emmènera en Syrie, au Liban, à Sarajevo ou encore en Amérique du Sud à la rencontre de ces assiégés.

- Hervé Bougon & Philippe Bachman
 


---

LES FILMS 

 
LE SIÈGE,
Rémy Ourdan et Patrick Chauvel (2016) – France

EAU ARGENTÉE, SYRIE AUTOPORTRAIT
, Ossama Mohamed & Wiam Simav Bedirxan (2014) France/Syrie

L’AMBASSADE
, Chris Marker (1973) – France

9 DAYS FROM MY WINDOW IN ALEPPO,
Floor van der Meulen & Thomas Vroege (2015) Pays-Bas/Syrie

POSTHUME, Ghassan Salhab (2007) - Liban



Partenaires Institutionnels
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL LA-COMETE

Enregistrer