WAR IN CHINA (1930-1945)

 


WAR IN CHINA (1930-1945)


If the wars taking place in China over this period and generally not well known, even less well known are the films they inspired. This spotlight focusses on three specific wars: the Civil War, the Sino-Japanese War and the Second World War. The Civil War, taking place between 1927 and 1949 (with a respite between 1940 and 1945), was fought between the Kuomintang Nationalist Party led by Chiang Kai-Check and the Communist Party. It forms the backdrop to a film by Franck Capra, better known for his Utopian, political and social comedies (Mr Deeds Goes To Town, Mr Smith Goes to Washington and It’s a Wonderful Life to name a few) than for his historical works. Starring the dazzling Barbara Stanwyck, The Bitter Tea of General Yen (1932) is an exuberant Hollywood melodrama whose exploration of interracial love exhibits a frankness rare of its time. History is portrayed, if not completely accurately, at least in a manner that lends itself to cinema. Conversely, Chinese films City of Life and Death (2010) directed by Chuan Lu and Red Sorghum (1987) by Zhang Yimou are truer to reality and artistically less ambitious.

After invading Manchuria in 1931, the Japanese launched fresh attacks against China from 1937 onwards, marking the beginning of a war that would merge into the Second World War. The work of Chinese filmmaker Chuan Lu, impressive in its production and painstaking photography, provides a sorrowful portrayal of the Nankin massacre with an attention to detail and historical accuracy for which he was taken to task in his own country. Red Sorghum starring the filmmaker’s then wife Gong Li is the glorious portrayal of a resistance fighter during the Japanese invasion.

Spielberg concludes this harrowing period in China’s history with Empire of the Sun, an ambitious docudrama portraying a child (the young Christian Bale) who was separated from his parents (an issue close to the filmmaker’s heart) following the Japanese invasion of Shanghai in 1941. Notable cast members include John Malkovitch.
Whether American or Chinese, all of these films, diverse as they are in their technique and perspective, examine the haunting feeling of disbelief and injustice of those whose life is overturned when their country is suddenly invaded.

- Olivier Broche

 


---

the films


THE BITTER TEA OF GENERAL YEN
, Franck Capra (1993) – United States

EMPIRE OF THE SUN,
Steven Spielberg (1988) United States

RED SORGHUM (HONG GAO LIANG RED SORGHUM)
, Zhang Yimou (1987) – China

CITY OF LIFE AND DEATH,
Chan Wu (2010) – China


Institutional Partners
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  AMNESTY LA-COMETE

Enregistrer

LA GUERRE EN CHINE (1930-1945)


 

 

GUERRES EN CHINE (1930-1945)


On connaît mal les guerres de cette période dont la Chine est le théâtre des opérations et encore moins la cinématographie qu'elles ont inspirée. Ce focus, qui fera l'objet d'autres plus pointus, en recoupe trois : la guerre civile, la guerre sino-japonaise et la seconde guerre mondiale. La guerre civile d'abord opposa entre 1927 et 1949 (avec une pause entre 1940 et 1945) le Kuomintang ou parti nationaliste de Tchang Kaï-chek et les communistes. C'est sur fond de cette guerre que se déroule le film de Franck Capra, plus connu pour ses comédies utopiques, politiques et sociales (L'Extravagant Mr Deeds, Mr Smith au Sénat ou La Vie est belle) que pour ses films historiques. La Grande Muraille ou The Bitter tea of General Yen (1932) est un magnifique mélodrame hollywoodien qui traite avec franchise , ce qui était rare à l'époque, d'un amour inter racial avec la fougueuse et merveilleuse comédienne Barbara Stanwyck. Si l'Histoire n'y trouve pas forcément son compte, le cinéma y trouve le sien. En revanche les deux films chinois, City of life and Death (2010) de Chuan Lu et Le Sorgho rouge (1987) de Zhang Yimou sont plus fidèles à la réalité historique et pas moins ambitieux artistiquement.

Après avoir envahi la Mandchourie en 1931, les Japonais attaquent à nouveau la Chine à partir de 1937. Début d'une guerre qui va se confondre avec la deuxième guerre mondiale. Le film du chinois Chuan Lu raconte, en une mise en scène imposante et une image très soignée, le tristement célèbre massacre de Nankin avec une souci de justesse et de vérité qui lui fut reproché dans son propre pays. Le Sorgho rouge avec la célèbre Gong Li, épouse du cinéaste, est le magnifique portrait d'une femme de la campagne résistant à l'invasion japonaise.

Spielberg conclue cette période douloureuse pour la Chine avec L'Empire du soleil, vaste fresque qui décrit un enfant (le jeune Christian Bale) séparé de ses parents (thème cher au réalisateur) à la suite de l'invasion de Shanghai en 1941 par les Japonais. On pourra être particulièrement sensible à la composition de John Malkovitch.

Américains ou chinois, ces films si différents par leur facture et leur point de vue interrogent les sentiments d'incompréhension et d'injustice qui habitent ceux qui voient leur vie basculer par l'irruption d'un envahisseur.

- Olivier Broche
 

---

LES FILMS

 

LA GRANDE MURAILLE, Franck Capra (1993) – États-Unis

L’EMPIRE DU SOLEIL,
Steven Spielberg (1988) États-Unis

LE SORGHO ROUGE
, Zhang Yimou (1987) – Chine

CITY OF LIFE AND DEATH,
Chan Wu (2010) – Chine



Partenaires Institutionnels
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL LA-COMETE

Enregistrer