YOUNGER AUDIENCES




The end of 2017 was marked by the Weinstein affair. In Cannes in 2018, women directors, actors, designers, producers and part-time workers took action with the movements Me Too and Time's Up. They denounced the wage gap and other injustices towards women, including harassment and hypocrisy in the film industry. They also reminded us that equality is yet to be achieved and that violence against women is still far too common.

Parvana, a young girl of 11, unfortunately knows all too well the meaning of inequality between the sexes… In Kabul where she lives, the Taliban won’t sell her bread, won’t allow her to leave the house, belittle her, humiliate her and imprison her father, with whom she is able to go to market. But Parvana, who loves literature and story telling, is not planning to obey these fanatics of God and their hate. Using the identity of a young boy, Aatish, she will fight for her family and for her rights.

Another time, another place. In the Paris of the Belle Epoque, of Picasso, Colette and Marie Curie, little Dilili investigates the mysterious disappearance of young girls… Effectively, not all men like educated and freethinking women… Visually breathtaking, the new feature film by the creator of Kirikou, Michel Ocelot, Dilili in Paris is a hymn to light, freedom and the joy of living together.

As for Wes Anderson, in his new feature film, Isle of Dogs, he questions the drift towards populism and authoritarianism threatening our democracies. Using the technique of stop-motion animation, set in a retro-futuristic Japan, Wes Anderson attempts to open our eyes to the rise of extremism, the fate of migrants and the catastrophic state of our planet.

Tales from the Lakeside also sounds the alarm: the lake and the marshes are under threat! The Grimps have no respect for the animals and plants and threaten the ecosystem. How can the conflict between the two tribes be resolved to achieve peace?

Women’s rights, migratory and ecological crises, the rise of all kinds of extremism and obscurantism – the selection of films for younger audiences at the War on Screen Festival 2018 is ambitious, questioning topical subjects and attempting to tackle the most sensitive of issues to enable them in future to build a better world…

-Joanna Bartkowiak



THE FILMS


THE BREADWINNER, by Nora TWOMEY (2018) - Canada, Ireland, Luxembourg

TALES FROM THE LAKESIDE, by Zsolt PÁLFI (2017) - Hungary

ISLE OF DOGS, by Wes ANDERSON (2018) - USA

THE BOYS OF PAUL STREET, by Zoltán FÁBRI (1968) - Hungary, USA

DILILI À PARIS, by Michel OCELOT (2018) - France, Belgium, Germany

Institutional Partners
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION CNC-DEVELOPPE REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO
VILLE--DE-CHALONS   Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

EnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrer

JEUNE PUBLIC

 

 

La fin de l’année 2017 fut marquée par l’affaire Weinstein. En 2018, à Cannes les réalisatrices, actrices, créatrices, productrices et intermittentes du spectacle se sont mobilisées à travers les mouvements Me Too et Time's Up afin de dénoncer les injustices faites aux femmes, les inégalités salariales, pour prévenir du harcèlement, mais aussi pour rappeler que l’égalité n’est pas encore acquise, que les violences faites aux femmes sont toujours trop nombreuses et pour dénoncer l’hypocrisie de nos sociétés.

Parvana, une jeune fillette de 11 ans ne sait, malheureusement, que trop bien ce que veut dire l’inégalité des sexes... À Kaboul, où elle vit, les talibans ne veulent pas lui vendre du pain, lui interdisent de sortir de la maison, la rabaissent, l’humilient et emprisonnent son père qui l’amène avec lui au marché. Mais Parvana, passionnée par la littérature et les histoires, ne compte pas se soumettre aux fous de Dieux animés par la haine. Sous l'identité du jeune garçon Aatish, elle va se battre pour sa famille et pour ses droits.

Autre époque, autre lieu. Dans le Paris de la Belle Epoque, de Picasso, de Colette, ou encore de Marie Curie, la petite Dilili mène une enquête sur des enlèvements mystérieux de fillettes… En effet, les femmes instruites et libres ne plaisent pas à tous les hommes...Visuellement époustouflant, le nouveau long métrage de Michel Ocelot, le créateur de Kirikou, Dilili à Paris est un hymne à la lumière, la liberté et la joie de vivre ensemble.

Wes Anderson, quant à lui, questionne avec son nouveau long métrage, L’Île aux chiens, les dérives populistes et autoritaires qui menacent nos démocraties. Avec la technique de l’animation image par image, dans un japon rétro-futuriste, Wes Anderson tente d’ouvrir nos yeux sur la montée des extrêmes, sur le sort des migrants et sur l'état catastrophique de notre planète.

De la même façon, Willy et les gardiens du lac, tirent la sonnette d'alarme : le lac et les marais sont menacés ! Les Bougons font fi du respect des animaux et des végétaux et menacent l’écosystème. Comment résoudre le conflit entre les deux tribus et sauver la paix ?

Les droits des femmes, la crise migratoire et écologique, la montées des extrémismes et obscurantismes de toutes sortes – la sélection des films jeune public du festival War On Screen 2018 est ambitieuse, questionne des sujets d'actualité et tente d’aborder les questions les plus délicates afin qu’ils construisent, plus tard, un monde meilleur...
 


LES FILMS


PARVANA, UNE ENFANCE EN AFGHANISTAN, de Nora TWOMEY (2018) - Canada, Irlande, Luxembourg

WILLY ET LES GARDIENS DU LAC, de Zsolt PÁLFI (2017) - Hongrie

L'ÎLE AUX CHIENS, de Wes ANDERSON (2018) - États-Unis

LES GARÇONS DE LA RUE PAUL, de Zoltán FÁBRI (1968) - Hongrie, États-Unis

DILILI À PARIS, de Michel OCELOT (2018) - France, Belgique, Allemagne

Partenaires Institutionnels
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION CNC-DEVELOPPE REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO
VILLE--DE-CHALONS   Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

EnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrer