EDUCATION IN THE VISUAL IMAGE


COURT TOUJOURS !

ALWAYS SHORT!


Twenty young people aged between 13 and 17, from the city’s priority 'active watch’ neighbourhoods, take a personal look at the theme of conflict by shooting and screening their short films. They become the driving force behind this project positioning themselves both behind and in front of the camera to present their vision of conflict, translating their scripted films into images. During twelve 4-hour long sessions, professionals from the sector give them the keys to the language of the cinema, initiating them into camera and sound techniques, and accompanying them in the process of creation and distribution.

Taking part in the project: La Comète, the War On Screen festival, Verbaux social and cultural centres, Rive-Gauche, Schmit and Vallée Saint-Pierre, the city of Châlons-en-Champagne service for social cohesion, Passeurs d’images-coordination Télé Centre Bernon and director Roméo De Melo Martins.

This project is financed by the city contract between: the State, the Departmental Council of la Marne, Châlons-en-Champagne conurbation authority, City of Châlons-en-Champagne, the RIC, Plurial Novilia, the MAÏF, Passeurs d’Image - coordination Télé Centre Bernon, the Comète-Scène Nationale of Châlons-en-Champagne and the War on Screen International Film Festival.
 

MEMORIES AND CINEMA


The 2016 edition of the War on Screen festival gave twelve young people from priority “active watch” neighbourhoods the opportunity to try their hand at making a documentary. They invited residents from their area, already known to them, to bear witness in front of the camera. Their interviews transpose personal experiences of conflict. These accounts are enhanced by comments by the festivals’ director and filmmaker Pieter Van de Pue. While making this short film, these young people were able to discover other films, meet cinema professionals and explore behind the scenes at the festival.


---

TELE CENTRE BERNON (TCB)

War on Screen Partner

Télé Centre Bernon is a non-profit organisation whose mission is to provide educational support for arts and media interpretation. The Centre’s specific activities take the form of arts workshops, courses and other cultural activities centred around image and media, including debates, screenings and support for new productions. The Association is involved in social and cultural activities for general audiences (both in and out of term time) that aim to democratise audio-visual media and information and communications techniques.
Télé Centre Bernon has been appointed by the Regional Department for Cultural Affairs and Regional Council of Champagne-Ardenne to coordinate the Passeurs d’images and Lycéens et apprentis au cinéma schemes aimed at improving access and awareness of film and filmmaking among younger generations.
 

THE PARCOURS DE CINÉMA EN FESTIVALS PROGRAMME


The Parcours de cinéma en festivals project is run in collaboration with five partnering organisations, La Comète - scène nationale, TCB and the Schmit, Verbeau and Vallée Saint-Pierre youth and community centres, with funding from MAÏF. Involving around a dozen young students, it invites participants to experience the complete “journey” of a film festival: discovering films, meeting filmmaking professionals and seeing what goes on behind the scenes.

This year, our young participants will get to know local residents and invite them to tell their stories in front of the camera. These interviews, which will provide first hand testimonies of their personal experiences of conflict, will serve as the basis for a short montage. The resulting short film will be screened to audiences in Châlons both at La Comète and in the region’s community centres.

This project to collect and share memories with young people from Châlons will continue into 2017.


---

LA CARAVANE ENSORCELÉE

War on Screen partner

Short films on every road


In 2006, La Pellicule Ensorcelée created a small mobile projection room, La Caravane ensorcelée, to enable the showing of short films in districts and countryside far from town centres and cinemas. With seating for 12 adults or 15 children, its flexibility allows it to adapt to partner projects and to varied audiences, showing art house films in villages, schools, holiday camps, retirement homes and festivals.

A selection of short films for all ages - Free
 

WEDNESDAY 4th OCTOBER
FROM 9:00 AM TO 5:00 PM – PARKING DE LA MAISON DE RETRAITE SARRAIL - QUARTIER SCHMIT

THURSDAY 5th OCTOBER
FROM 9:00 AM TO 12:00 AM – SPLACE DE L’HÔTEL DE VILLE – SUIPPES
FROM 2:00 PM TO 5:00 PM - PARKING DU COLLÈGE HENRI GUILLAUMET – MOURMELON

FRIDAY 6th OCTOBER

FROM 9:00 AM TO 12:00 AM - ESPLANADE DU CHÂTEAU – SARRY
FROM 2:00 PM TO 5:00 PMBIBLIOTHÈQUE POMPIDOU

SATURDAY 7th OCTOBER
FROM 9:00 AM TO 5:00 PM
- PLACE FOCH


---

L’UBUS THÉÂTRE

LA BATAILLE GÉANTE DE BOULES DE NEIGE, de Jean-François Pouliot & François Brisson (2016) -
Canada (3+)

WEDNESDAY 4th OCTOBER
14H00 - PARVIS DE LA COMÈTE

THURSDAY 5th OCTOBER
10H00 and 14H00 - PLACE DE L’HÔTEL DE VILLE – SUIPPES


---

WITH CINÉLIGUE

FRIDAY OCTOBER 6TH - maison d’arrêt de Châlons-EN-CHAMPAGNE

GOOD BYE LENIN !, by Wolgang Becker (2003)

--- 

THE ROPES OF SUCCESS

Reims Institute for Political Studies –Saint-Rémi Secondary School –Maryse Bastié Secondary School – Pierre de Coubertin Secondary School

 

With the support of the Department for Education, the 'Cordées de la Réussite’ initiative promotes cultural democratisation in schools throughout France. On the Reims campus of Paris Sciences Po, the programme is coordinated by the student association “Pistes pour la Réussite”.

On Saturday 7th October 2017, 120 secondary-school pupils, sponsored by 40 student-tutors from Sciences Po-Campus de Reims and 8 academic advisors, will discover the festival.

With several different paths reflecting the various focuses of the festival programme on offer, they will also take part in other festival highlights: exhibition visits and encounters with the directors programmed the same day.
  

Saturday 7th October



---

SPECIAL EFFECTS WORKSHOP…

OR HOW TO DECIPHER SPECIAL EFFECTS IN THE CINEMA

Suitable for all ages above 6 years

Length: 45 minutes

Disappear in a second, split into two or fly like Superman: impossible? Not at all, and we will attempt to understand how all this and more is conceivable in the cinema….

In this workshop, various special effects can be tried out live. Based on the inventions of Georges Méliès, we will discover how cinema special effects are created.

Then you can try them out. The workshop leader will set up a shoot with the whole group, making a film with special effects. The film will be edited live and screened at the end of the workshop.

Thanks to this workshop, you can become an expert in special effects techniques, able to figure out how a special effect has been made and perhaps become the creator of the next Superman!

Les grands espaces Association

 

FRIDAY 6th OCTOBER - BIBLIOTHÈQUE POMPIDOU
09:30 – 14:00 – school sessions and
18:00 – open to the general public

 


---

BALLADE STUDIO WORKSHOP


Ballade Studio will be giving a lucky few the opportunity to learn how to design a poster for the festival by taking part in a workshop all about visual art! It’ll be pop pop pop and tip top!!

Ballade is a young visual creation studio with a fresh and original vision, founded by Mathilde and Kevin from Reims.

Two fans of the image, bosom buddies who explore the professions of graphical design, photography and digital art with passion and sensitivity.

But what makes this duo truly special is their amazing creativity and perfect complementarity.

The website: www.ballade-studio.com
Ballade Studio is also on Instagram and Facebook.
 

WEDNESDAY 4th OCTOBER - caves médiévales
14H - séance scolaire


---

CINEMA RESIDENCY WITH ETIENNE LABROUE
 

Etienne Labroue cut his teeth as a director and author on French satirical shows Les Guignols and Groland, has made a number of short films and in 2015 directed his first feature-length work L’Elan (“The Moose”), the story of an elusive fluffy creature with a moose’s head.

He was president of the High School Jury of War on Screen International Film Festival 3rd edition.

Drawing on this enriching experience, La Comète has entrusted him with a cinema residency project for schools, working with students from three different schools on the process of writing and making a film.

Inspired by Jacques Demy’s film “The Umbrellas of Cherbourg”, discovered by the students during the Festival War on Screen 2016, the idea took shape: to write and film a short-length musical, like a game of exquisite corpse.

During several writing workshops held throughout the 2016-17 academic year, the students acquired the tools they needed to write the screenplay, draw up the storyboards, prepare the decors and be protagonists, both in front and behind the camera. The filming took place over the period of a week, in Châlons and Suippes.

THE UMBRELLAS OF CHÂLONS will be screened as part of the festival War on Screen 2017, in the presence of the film’s team.

THE SCHOOLS
Jules Ferry state primary school - Suippes
Louis Pasteur secondary school- Suippes
Pierre Bayen sixth-form college - Châlons-en-Champagne

 

Institutional Partners
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

EnregistrerEnregistrer

ÉDUCATION À L'IMAGE


COURT TOUJOURS !

20 jeunes âgés de 13 à 17 ans, issus des quartiers prioritaires et en veille active de la Ville, posent leur regard singulier sur la thématique du conflit en réalisant et diffusant leur court-métrage. Ils deviennent moteurs du projet en passant derrière et devant la caméra pour livrer leur vision du conflit, grâce à la mise en image d’une écriture filmique. Au cours de 12 séances d’une durée de 4h, des professionnels du secteur leur apportent les clés du langage cinématographique, les initient aux techniques de prises de vue et de son et en les accompagnant, dans le processus de création et de diffusion.

Acteurs du projet : La Comète, le festival War On Screen, les centres sociaux et culturels Verbaux, Rive-Gauche, Schmit et Vallée Saint-Pierre, le service de cohésion sociale de la Ville de Châlons-en-Champagne, Passeurs d’images-coordination Télé Centre Bernon et le réalisateur Roméo De Melo Martins.

Ce projet est financé par le contrat de Ville : l’État, le conseil Départemental de la Marne, Communauté d’Agglomération de Châlons-en-Champagne, Ville de Châlons-en-Champagne, La RIC, Plurial Novilia, la MAÏF, Passeurs d’Image - coordination Télé Centre Bernon, la Comète-scène nationale de Châlons-en-Champagne et le Festival International de Cinéma War on Screen


MÉMOIRES ET CINÉMA

L’édition 2016 du festival War On Screen a permis à douze jeunes des quartiers prioritaires et en veille active de s’essayer au genre du documentaire. Ils ont invité des résidents de leur quartier, préalablement rencontrés, à témoigner devant la caméra. Ces interviews retranscrivent des expériences personnelles vécues lors de conflits. Ces témoignages sont enrichis par les propos du Directeur Général du festival et du réalisateur, Pieter Van de Pue. Parallèlement à la réalisation de ce court-métrage, les jeunes ont pu aller à la découverte de films, rencontrer des professionnels de cinéma et découvrir les coulisses d’un festival.

 

---

TELE CENTRE BERNON (TCB)

Partenaire de War on Screen

Télé Centre Bernon est une association de loi 1901 dont la mission est l’éducation à l’image et au regard. Cette mission se concrétise par le biais d’ateliers de pratiques artistiques, d’actions de formation et autres actions culturelles autour de l’image : animation de débats, projections, soutien à la création... L’association intervient dans le champ culturel et social pour tous publics (en temps scolaire ou non) par la démocratisation de l’outil audiovisuel et des techniques d’information et de communication.
Télé Centre Bernon est missionnée par la DRAC et la Région Champagne-Ardenne pour coordonner les dispositifs Passeurs d’images et Lycéens et Apprentis au cinéma.

 

PARCOURS DE CINÉMA EN FESTIVALS

Ce projet est construit avec six partenaires : la Comète - scène nationale, la Ville de Châlons-en-Champagne, le Télécentre Bernon (TCB) et les trois centres sociaux et culturels municipaux, Schmit, Verbeau et Vallée Saint-Pierre et soutenu par la MAÏF. Le parcours se déroule le temps d’un festival avec un groupe d’une douzaine d’adolescents. Il s’agit d’aller à la découverte des films, de rencontrer des professionnels de cinéma, ainsi que de découvrir les coulisses d’un festival.

Cette année les jeunes inviteront des résidents de leur quartier, qu’ils auront préalablement rencontrés, à témoigner devant la caméra. Les interviews qui retranscriront des expériences personnelles vécues lors de conflits permettront de monter un court métrage. Ces témoignages feront l’objet de la réalisation d’un court-métrage, présenté à la Comète et dans les Centres Sociaux devant le public Châlonnais.

Ce projet de collectage de mémoires, de partage et de rencontre entre les jeunes de Châlons se poursuit en 2017.

 

---

LA CARAVANE ENSORCELÉE

Partenaire de War on Screen

Des films courts sur les routes


En 2006, La Pellicule Ensorcelée crée une petite salle de projection ambulante : La Caravane ensorcelée, permettant de présenter des films courts dans les quartiers et les campagnes, éloignés des centres villes et des salles de cinéma. Pouvant accueillir environ 12 adultes ou 15 enfants, sa grande souplesse d’installation permet de s’adapter aux projets des partenaires et aux publics diffusant du cinéma d’art et d’essai dans les villages, les écoles, les centres aérés, les maisons de retraite, les festivals.

Une sélection de courts métrages pour tous les âges.

 

MERCREDI 4 OCTOBRE
DE 9h00 à 17h00 – PARKING DE LA MAISON DE RETRAITE SARRAIL - QUARTIER SCHMIT

JEUDI 5 OCTOBRE
DE 9h00 à 12h00 - PLACE DE L’HÔTEL DE VILLE – SUIPPES
DE 14H00 À 17H00 - PARKING DU COLLÈGE HENRI GUILLAUMET – MOURMELON

VENDREDI 6 OCTOBRE
DE 9H00 À 12H00 - ESPLANADE DU CHÂTEAU – SARRY
DE 14H00 À 17H00 - BIBLIOTHÈQUE POMPIDOU

VENDREDI 7 OCTOBRE
DE 9H00 À 17H00 - PLACE FOCH

 

---

L’UBUS THÉÂTRE


Avec son autobus scolaire jaune typiquement québécois transformé en théâtre de poche itinérant, la Compagnie Ubus Théâtre fait voyager le public de la Comète depuis plus d’une décennie.
Expert en théâtre d’images, de marionnettes et d’objets miniatures, la Compagnie fondée par Agnès Zacharie, nous a habitué à de véritables petits miracles visuels. Fortes de leurs échanges, La Comète confie à la compagnie et en particulier, à Henri Chalem, une carte blanche dans le cadre du festival War On Screen.
C’est dans cet écrin insolite que sera présenté ce film d’animation pacifiste : un remake du classique québécois La Guerre des Tuques, trésor d’enfance.

LA BATAILLE GÉANTE DE BOULES DE NEIGE, de Jean-François Pouliot & François Brisson (2016) -
Canada (À partir de 3 ans)
 

MERCREDI 4 OCTOBRE 
14H00 - PARVIS DE LA COMÈTE

JEUDI 5 OCTOBRE
10H00 ET 14H00 - PLACE DE L’HÔTEL DE VILLE – SUIPPES


---

AVEC CINÉLIGUE

vendredi 6 OCTOBRE - maison d’arrêt de Châlons-EN-CHAMPAGNE

GOOD BYE LENIN !, de Wolgang Becker (2003)

---

LES CORDÉES DE LA RÉUSSITE

 

Appuyée par le ministère de l’éducation nationale, l’initiative des Cordées de la Réussite se déroule dans de nombreux établissements scolaires de France et promeut la démocratisation culturelle. Sur le campus de Reims de Sciences Po Paris, elle est coordonnée par l’association étudiante « Pistes pour la Réussite ».

Le samedi 7 octobre 2017, 120 collégiens, parrainés par 40 étudiants-tuteurs de Sciences Po-Campus de Reims et 8 Professeurs-référents vont ainsi découvrir le festival.

Plusieurs parcours qui reprennent les focus de la programmation du festival leur sont proposés et sont agrémentés des autres temps forts du festival : visites des expositions, rencontres avec des réalisateurs programmés lors de cette journée.
 

SAMEDI 7 OCTOBRE 2017

 

---

ATELIER SPÉCIAL EFFET...

OU COMMENT EXPLIQUER LES TRUCAGES AU CINÉMA

Tout public. À partir de 6 ans

Durée : 45 minutes

Disparaître en 1 seconde, se dédoubler ou voler comme Superman: impossible ? Et bien si, et nous allons tenter de comprendre comment tout cela est imaginable, au cinéma…

Lors de cet atelier, différents effets spéciaux sont expérimentés, en direct, dans la salle. En partant des inventions de Georges Méliès, on analyse comment sont fabriqués la plupart des effets spéciaux au cinéma.

Puis vient le moment de l’expérimentation. L’animateur met en place un tournage avec toute la salle, qui permettra de créer un film avec effets spéciaux. Le film réalisé est monté en direct et projeté à la fin de l’atelier sur l’écran.

Grâce à cet atelier, le spectateur sera plus aguerri aux techniques des effets spéciaux, capable de décrypter une image truquée et susceptible de réaliser le prochain Superman !

Association Les grands espaces

 

VENDREDI 6 OCTOBRE - BIBLIOTHÈQUE POMPIDOU
9h30 ET 14h00 - séances scolaires
18h00 - séance tout public
 

---

ATELIER BALLADE STUDIO


Ballade Studio proposera à quelques personnes l'opportunité de pouvoir en connaître davantage sur la conception et la réalisation de l'affiche du festival en participant à un petit atelier sur la thématique du visuel ! Ça sera pop pop pop et tip top.

Ballade est un jeune studio de création visuelle au regard frais et original fondé par deux rémois, Mathilde & Kévin.

Deux amoureux de l'image, deux inséparables qui explorent les disciplines du design graphique, de la photographie et du digital avec passion et sensibilité.

Mais ce qui caractérise le mieux ces deux-là, c'est une créativité et une complémentarité à toutes épreuves !

Le site : www.ballade-studio.com
Ballade Studio est aussi sur Instagram et Facebook.


MERCREDI 4 OCTOBRE - caves médiévales
14H - séance scolaire


---

RÉSIDENCE CINÉMA AVEC ETIENNE LABROUE


Etienne Labroue est réalisateur et scénariste. Formé à Groland et aux Guignols en tant qu’auteur et réalisateur, il a réalisé plusieurs courts métrages et en 2015 réalisé son premier long métrage l'Elan, l'histoire d'une énigmatique créature à tête d'élan en peluche.

Il était président du jury lycéen lors de la 3ème édition du Festival War on Screen.

Fort de cette expérience très enrichissante, la Comète lui confié le projet d’une résidence cinéma en milieu scolaire avec des élèves de trois établissements différents afin de travailler à la conception et réalisation d’un projet cinématographique.

Inspirés par le film de Jacques Demy « Les parapluies de Cherbourg » que les élèves avaient découvert pendant le Festival War on Screen 2016 l’idée a pris forme: écrire et réaliser une comédie musicale court-métrage sous forme de cadavre exquis.

Lors de plusieurs ateliers d'écriture organisés tout au long de l’année scolaire 2016-17, les élèves ont acquit les outils leur permettant d’écrire le scénario, concevoir le story-boards, préparer les décors et être acteur devant et derrière la caméra. Le tournage s’est déroulé pendant une semaine à Châlons et à Suippes.

LES PARAPLUIES DE CHALONS sera projeté dans le cadre du festival War on Screen 2017 en présence de l’équipe du film.

LES ETABLISSEMENT SCOLAIRES
École primaire publique Jules Ferry - Suippes
Collège Louis Pasteur - Suippes
Lycée Pierre Bayen - Châlons-en-Champagne

 



Partenaires Institutionnels
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

EnregistrerEnregistrer