FEATURE FILMS COMPETITION 2018

 



The ten films in competition reflect how conflicts are portrayed in the cinema today. The sixth War on Screen festival highlights the diversity of these perspectives and their evolution. That conflicts increasingly pervade productions and that films on this subject are ever more numerous is clearly a sign of the times.

Some wars necessitate interpretation and re-interpretation, others are largely ignored and forgotten. Nevertheless, today’s conflicts do not escape the attention of filmmakers. In parallel with instant channels of communication (television, social media…), witnesses to an immediate reality documenting an individual and collective memory, the cinema offers a delayed perspective, taking the time (even if sometimes very short) for writing, for artistic creation. This process plunges us into the most intimate twists and turns of the human experience of conflict, extracting its very essence at an individual or collective level.

More than any other subject, conflict and its representation generate a multiplicity of formal approaches while resulting in the increasing absence of the lines that distinguish them. And thus flourish fiction that is documented or on the contrary is characterised by a type of abstraction; documentaries flirting with fiction; or numerous animation techniques with an incredibly creative, free and refreshing aesthetic. Finally, the fusion of the documentary and animated film (clearly this year’s major novelty) is also part of this evolution. New forms of writing are emerging.

The international competition is the showcase for these developments and this current state of affairs, demonstrating more than ever that the cinema is never as creative and varied as when tackling the subject of war.

WoS 2018 invites us to share in the experiences of men who in 1916 await a hypothetical attack in the trenches of the Somme (Journey’s End); of a couple caught in the vice of the Cold War (Cold War); of Mussolini who reappears mysteriously in the Italy of today (I'm Back); of a Columbian woman fleeing the conflict of the Farc (Los Silencios); of a mother plunged into the Khmer terror (Funan); of a young father caught in the net of fundamentalism (The Faithful Son); of young Canadian army soldiers (First Stripes); of an illicit couple trapped in a conflict they don’t understand (The Reports on Sarah and Saleem); of a reporter mysteriously missing in Yugoslavia (Chris the Swiss); of a Street Art star whose work is stolen in Bethlehem (The Man Who Stole Bansky).

Crime investigation films, comedies, period sagas, intimist behind the scenes and immersive documentaries - the competition is richer and more varied than ever. Here’s wishing you all a great festival!


THE FILMS


CHRIS THE SWISS, by Anja KOFMEL (2018) - Switzerland, Germany, Croatia, Finland

THE FAITHFUL SON, by Guérin VAN DE VORST (2017) - Belgium

FIRST STRIPES, by Jean-François CAISSY (2018) - Canada

I'M BACK, by Luca MINIERO (2018) - Italie

FUNAN, by Denis DO (2017) - France, Belgium, Luxembourg, Cambodia

COLD WAR, by Paweł PAWLIKOWSKI (2018) - Poland, Britain, France

THE MAN WHO STOLE BANKSY, by Marco PROSERPIO (2017) - Great Britain, France

LOS SILENCIOS, by Beatriz SEIGNER (2018) - Brazil, France, Columbia

THE REPORTS ON SARAH AND SALEEM, by Muayad ALAYAN (2018) - Palestine, Netherlands, Germany

MEN OF HONOR, by Saul DIBB (2017) - United Kingdom

Institutional Partners
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION CNC-DEVELOPPE REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO
VILLE--DE-CHALONS   Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

EnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrer

COMPÉTITION LONGS MÉTRAGES 2018

 



Les dix films en compétition reflètent l’actualité du regard cinématographique sur les conflits. La 6e édition de War on Screen met en évidence la multiplicité et les évolutions de ce regard. Signe des temps, le conflit s’infiltre dans de plus en plus de productions et les films traitant du sujet sont de plus en plus nombreux.

Certaines guerres suscitent lectures et relectures, d'autres sont largement ignorées, oubliées. Pour autant, les conflits actuels n’échappent pas au regard des cinéastes. En parallèle des canaux de l’instantané (télévision, réseaux sociaux, …), témoins d’une réalité instantanée documentant une mémoire individuelle et collective future, le cinéma propose son regard décalé, prenant le temps (même s’il est parfois très court) de l’écriture, de la création artistique. Ce travail fait plonger dans les méandres les plus intimes de l’expérience humaine du conflit, il en extrait l’essence même à l’échelle individuelle ou collective.

La représentation du conflit génère sans doute plus que tout autre sujet la multiplicité des approches formelles en même temps qu’elle entraîne la disparition de plus en plus marquée des frontières qui les distinguent. Ainsi fleurissent des fictions documentées ou au contraire traversées par une forme abstraction, des documentaires flirtant avec la fiction ou de nombreuses techniques d’animation proposant une esthétique formidablement créatrice et libre et renouvelant le regard. Enfin, la rencontre entre le documentaire et le cinéma d'animation (qui constitue sans doute la grande nouveauté de cette année) participe à ces évolutions. De nouvelles écritures apparaissent.

La compétition internationale est la vitrine de ces évolutions et de cette actualité illustrant plus que jamais que le cinéma n’est jamais aussi créatif et varié que lorsqu’il s’attaque aux guerres.

WoS 2018 nous met dans la peau d’hommes qui, dans les tranchées de la Somme en 1916 font face à l’attente d’une hypothétique attaque (Men Of Honor), d'un couple pris dans l'étau de la guerre froide (Cold War), d'un Mussolini qui réapparaît mystérieusement dans l’Italie d’aujourd’hui (I'm Back), d'une colombienne fuyant le conflit des Farcs (Los Silencios), d'une mère plongée dans la terreur Khmer (Funan), d'un jeune père pris dans les filets du fondamentalisme (La part sauvage), de jeunes recrues de l'armée Canadienne (Premières Armes), d’un couple illégitime pris dans l’étau d’un conflit qui les dépasse (The Reports on Sarah and Saleem), d'un reporter mystérieusement disparu en Yougoslavie (Chris the Swiss), d'une star du Street Art dont une œuvre est volée à Bethléem (The Man Who Stole Bansky).

Films enquêtes, comédie, fresques historiques ou huis-clos intimistes, documentaire immersif voici donc une compétition plus riche et variée que jamais. Bon Festival à tous !


LES FILMS


CHRIS THE SWISS, de Anja KOFMEL (2018) - Suisse, Allemagne, Croatie, Finlande

LA PART SAUVAGE, de Guérin VAN DE VORST (2017) - Belgique

PREMIÈRES ARMES, de Jean-François CAISSY (2018) - Canada

I'M BACK, de Luca MINIERO (2018) - Italie

FUNAN, de Denis DO (2017) - France, Belgique, Luxembourg, Cambodge

COLD WAR, de Paweł PAWLIKOWSKI (2018) - Pologne, Royaume-Uni, France

THE MAN WHO STOLE BANKSY, de Marco PROSERPIO (2017) - Royaume-Uni, Italie

LOS SILENCIOS, de Beatriz SEIGNER (2018) - Brésil, France, Colombie

THE REPORTS ON SARAH AND SALEEM, de Muayad ALAYAN (2018) - Palestine, Pays-Bas, Allemagne

MEN OF HONOR, de Saul DIBB (2017) - Royaume-Uni

 

Partenaires Institutionnels
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION CNC-DEVELOPPE REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO
VILLE--DE-CHALONS   Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

EnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrer