WAR ON SCREEN EDITORIAL

 WAR ON SCREEN - 4TH EDITION

Our history is interspersed with war and sadly wars continue to mould the world around us.

Which is why war has been the subject of all forms of art: painting, literature, sculpture, even dance and music. Film has also been greatly inspired by war; as a narrative of conflict, as an attempt to understand its causes or to warn against its dramatic consequences.

Yet despite the wealth and diversity of this theme on the big screen, it is surprising that the International Film Festival held in the Châlons region is the first festival dedicated exclusively to this subject. From the beginning the programme has always included both original and deeply moving films, the ambition of every artist being to move, to trouble and to provoke an audience reaction.

The quality of the programme and the high standards of artistic director Philippe BACHMAN have, in just three years, made the “War On Screen” Festival a date not to be missed for cinema buffs, with over 12,500 tickets sold in 2015.

Our various local, departmental and regional authorities are proud to be partners of this event which invites us to question the wars of the past, the present and the future. Which makes good sense given that this region has been scarred by conflicts that have taken place here over the centuries, and armies still train here today.

Furthermore, this Festival provides a further opportunity to discover the riches of our local towns and countryside. We therefore welcome all festival-goers, all the artists who will be presenting their films and all those leading the conferences and debates surrounding the Festival.

We would like to thank the organisers for their remarkable work, the high quality of which you can judge for yourselves!

Have a great festival!

---

Benoist APPARU
, MP for Marne, Mayor of Châlons-en-Champagne

René-Paul SAVARY
, Senator for Marne, President of the Marne Regional Council

Philippe RICHERT
, President of the Grand Est region

Bruno BOURG-BROC
, President of the Conurbation Authority of Châlons-en-Champagne

Jacques JESSON,
President of the Châlons province

François MAINSANT
, President of the District Authority of Suippes

Jean-Raymond EGON
, Mayor of Suippes


 

Institutional Partners
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

Enregistrer

EDITORIAL WAR ON SCREEN

 

WAR ON SCREEN - 4ÈME ÉDITION


Force est de constater que les guerres ont jalonné notre histoire et continuent, malheureusement, à façonner le monde qui nous entoure.

C’est pourquoi, toutes les formes d’expression artistique ont cherché à les représenter : la peinture, la littérature, la sculpture, même la danse ou la musique. Le septième art aussi, naturellement, s’est beaucoup inspiré de la guerre, que ce soit pour la raconter, pour chercher à en comprendre les fondements ou pour alerter sur ses dramatiques conséquences.

Pourtant, étonnamment, malgré la richesse et la diversité de cette thématique sur grand écran, le Festival international de cinéma du Pays de Châlons est le premier à s’y intéresser et à s’y consacrer totalement. Ce qui donne, depuis sa création, une sélection à la fois originale et bouleversante, dans le sens positif du terme, tant il est vrai que l’ambition de tout artiste est avant tout de toucher, d’émouvoir, de faire réagir son public.

Grâce à la qualité de la programmation et à l’exigence artistique de son délégué général, Philippe BACHMAN, le Festival « War On Screen » est devenu en seulement trois ans, un rendez-vous incontournable des passionnés du cinéma, avec plus de 12.500 entrées en 2015.

Nos différentes collectivités locales, départementales et régionales sont fières de s’associer à cet événement qui nous invite à nous interroger sur les guerres d’hier, d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Il y a là une grande logique, tant il est vrai que nos territoires sont marqués à la fois par les conflits qui s’y sont déroulés au fil des siècles et par les armées qui s’y entraînent aujourd’hui encore.

Ce Festival est d’ailleurs une occasion supplémentaire de découvrir les richesses de nos villes et de nos campagnes. Nous souhaitons donc la bienvenue à tous les festivaliers, à tous les artistes qui vont présenter leurs films et à tous ceux qui vont animer les conférences et débats qui entoureront le Festival.

Nous remercions les organisateurs pour leur travail remarquable dont vous pourrez, sans aucun doute, mesurer la qualité.

Bon festival à toutes et à tous !

---

Benoist APPARU, Député de la Marne, Maire de Châlons-en-Champagne

René-Paul SAVARY
, Sénateur de la Marne, Président du Conseil départemental de la Marne

Philippe RICHERT
, Président de la région Grand Est

Bruno BOURG-BROC
, Président de la Communauté d’Agglomération de Châlons-en-Champagne

Jacques JESSON
, Président du Pays de Châlons

François MAINSANT
, Président de la Communauté de communes de Suippes

Jean-Raymond EGON
, Maire de Suippes


 

Partenaires Institutionnels
MINISTERE-DE-L-EDUCATION REGION GRAND EST CHALONS-AGGLO   
 CNC-DEVELOPPE  VILLE--DE-CHALONS Label centenaire   ECPAD  LA-COMETE  

Enregistrer